CW4- My Fables: The Pup and the Balloon and The Kind Wren


There was a time I had to write a fable for school.  I went a little crazy and wrote several pages, making it much longer than any of my classmates’.  So when I heard our fables for this assignment shouldn’t be more than 500 words, I panicked a little, but miraculously I managed to condense my ideas to a reasonable size.

The Pup and the Balloon

A pup awoke one day to find all his friends carrying balloons.  The cock and the hen strutted about with balloons tied to their wings, the cow had one tied to her tail, and even the mother goose and each of her goslings had one.  “Why do you all have balloons?” the pup asked.

At this all the animals burst into peals of laughter.  “You mean to say you haven’t heard?” chuckled the cock.  “It’s the latest fashion.”

“Then I must also have a balloon,” the pup resolved.  Thus he worked very hard and saved his money so that in a week’s time he had enough to buy a balloon.  It was a long and difficult wait, for in the meantime all his friends carried several balloons of all different colors, leaving him looking very plain.

At last the day came when he could tie his own balloon to his tail.  He paraded about, ensuring all saw and admired his new possession.  However, the very next day his balloon caught on a thorn bush and was no more.

“My balloon popped!” the pup cried in dismay.

“Ah well,” said a kitty watching from a tree.  “Balloons always do.”

Possessions are temporary.

Don’t collect for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal.  Matthew 6:19

The Kind Wren

All of the animals of the forest had a trait they boasted of.  “I am the most beautiful,” proclaimed the peacock.

“I am the strongest,” bragged the bear.

“And I am the most intelligent,” gloated the owl.

They all ridiculed the wren, for the only trait she could boast of was that she was the kindest.  Then one day a fire came to the forest.  The peacock’s beautiful tail was burned off, the bear was wounded by a fallen branch, and the owl became ill from breathing the smoke.  The only one who was not damaged was the wren, who in her kindness nursed her mockers back to health.  When they were well they thanked her, for her kindness proved most useful of all.

Character matters more than any other trait.

Colossians 3:12-15 – “Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.  And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.  And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body.  And be thankful.”

 

7 thoughts on “CW4- My Fables: The Pup and the Balloon and The Kind Wren

  1. Cool parables! I would pick one to be my favorite, but I love both. XD You had a really cool moral for “The Pup and the Balloon”. I didn’t expect the finiteness of possessions. ;D I was thinking more in a cliché direction, so really cool. As for the kindness of the wren, I just love how you demonstrate that a good character is very important. Also, good job on cutting it down. It’s undetectable, and trust me, I know how hard and painful it is to cut down something you’ve written. =P Great job!

    ~Michael Hollingworth
    Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Pup and the Balloon – Nice job! I’m definitely going to try and get around tor ending your other one…wow, can’t believe you did two :O But anyways, love the moral, and the use of balloons. Wooo good job Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

