No Other Choice


Here is a short story I wrote based on a writing prompt I found online.  Hope you enjoy! 

I kept my eyes squeezed shut as tightly as I could, partly to keep the tears from spilling over and partly because I couldn’t bear to face the world when I opened them.  It wasn’t very effective.  A tear still trickled down my cheek and the image before me was etched in my memory, burning in my mind no matter how hard I tried to chase it away.

Finally, I forced my eyes open.  My horse’s head lay in my lap, his body painfully heaving with every breath.   I took in the ink black main, the soft grey muzzle, and the deep chestnut fur, memorizing every feature.  If only it wasn’t for the mangled leg, unnaturally twisted so that my best friend could never walk again.

“I don’t want to do this,” I whispered.  My voice quivered like a violinist’s hand, pain hanging on every note.  The horse turned his head so his familiar dark eyes stared straight into mine.  If those eyes could speak, they would have begged.  Begged me to do what I must.

I flipped the knife over in my hand and took a deep breath.  What other options did I have?  I squeezed my eyes shut again and gritted my teeth.

One.

The day I first got my horse.  How we bonded instantly.  How for once, I felt like the happiest person in the world.

Two.

Riding through the fields, feeling free, the feel of the wind blowing in my face.  How it was my way to escape.  How my horse was the only one who was always there for me.

Three.

Before I could lose my resolve, I brought the knife down straight into his heart.

 

5 thoughts on “No Other Choice

  1. Wow. This is really good, and so sad! The use of threes at the end for the climax was great, and pairing it with the flashbacks worked out really well. Your opening line was also very gripping and had me wondering about what was to come next. Overall, great story, I love it! 😀

    ~Michael Hollingworth
    Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, the tragedy of it all! This is one of those stories when as I was reading it I was shouting “Noooo….” in my head the whole time. >.< You did a great job…I love tragedy, and when a piece of writing can make me sit on the edge of my chair, it must be pretty good! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

