J8: Reflections—Eight Weeks So Far


It seems I have completed eight weeks (one half a semester) of my Creative Writing class at TPS.  For this week’s journal, I’ve written some reflections on the class so far.

I was amazed to find out half a semester of creative writing has gone by.  I’m not sure if I should be excited about the accomplishment or panic because one semester is already halfway gone.  It’s hard to pick favorite assignment, since I really enjoyed them all.  I’ve never had a class where I looked forward to doing homework so much.

For a Journal, I would probably choose J5 because I enjoyed recounting this quirky adventure from my past.  For Creative Writing, CW6 is probably my favorite because through doing it I learned I like writing poetry.  Honestly, I was really surprised it didn’t turn out to be horrible.  As far as my least favorite assignment… well, I’d rather not mention those.  I’ll say my Brer Rabbit story.  While it was fun, I don’t feel it suited my style very well.

And of course, I have also really enjoyed getting to know my incredibly talented classmates and reading their amazing work.  I’ve had so much fun getting to know you and reading your writing.  So here are some shout outs:

Anne: Although I haven’t been able to read too much of your writing, I’ve enjoyed what little I have.  I love the way you’re able to honestly express yourself, especially in J2.

James:  You definitely have a way with words!  I especially enjoyed J4 because of your honesty and vulnerability.

Jessica: I love reading your reflection and creativity.  One of my favorites was CW7 because it was so clever.

Julie: You show a lot of creativity in your writing.  CW5 stands out to me for your use of humor and LOTR references.

Kasey: Your poetry is amazing!  I really admire your vulnerability and the way you draw in your readers.  I loved reading your CW6.

Kayla: You’re a really good story teller.  I really enjoyed reading CW8 because you made the story feel very real.

Luke: I love your insight and sense of humor.  J6 is one of my favorites because it is so expressive and funny.

Mara:  I love how much personality your writing shows.  You did a really good job with CW7; it has a lot of spunk to it.

Rachel K: Your writing is very insightful.  I especially like CW7 because it drew me in immediately and kept me captivated until the end.

Rachel R: I love your creativity!  I really enjoyed CW6 because I love Narnia and you did an excellent job retelling the story.

Sam: Your writing is very honest and creative.  I really love CW7 because it is so unique and clever.

Tabitha: I love reading your insightfulness and creativity!  With CW7 you did a good job of taking the message from the original story and showing how it is relevant in our time.

Valari: Your writing shows a lot of personality and creativity.  I especially enjoyed reading J7 because of your use of humor.

And last, but certainly not least is Ms. Gaines: Thank you for being such a great teacher and for giving such wonderful input!  You always give encouraging praise and helpful yet not critical suggestions.

I can’t wait for the next ¾ of the year!!!

A cool picture of a reflection. Because in this post I happen to be reflecting.
One thought on “J8: Reflections—Eight Weeks So Far

  1. lol. I love your caption and the picture. XD It’s great. It’s always nice to be able to look back and dissect what about your writing you like, and what you don’t, and while experimentation is fun, knowing what you do best in is always good. 😀

    ~Michael Hollingworth
    Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

