CW 10: Another World


Some of my creative writing I like some of it I want to hide in the closet never to be seen again.  This falls squarely in the latter category.  Perhaps it is because I have so much trouble writing about myself.  Anyway, I decided to take a trip to Narnia with this assignment and meet Aslan.

Note: King Gale, one of the characters in my story, actually was mentioned in the books.  You can read about him here.  Any other character mentioned, with the exception of Aslan, is my creation.

 

I sighed contently, staring out at the jagged white cliffs overlooking the pristine sea.  The sun was just starting to slide behind the horizon, giving the water a charming orange glow.  Soon the stars would come, glowing more brilliantly than they ever did in my world.  When I first came to Narnia, I think it was the stars that surprised me the most.  The only stars I was used to seeing were little pinpricks in the sky blotted out by light pollution.  Now, whenever I closed my eyes and tried to envision the stars from my world, the Narnian constellations blotted out the memory.

“What are you thinking of?” my friend, King Gale, asked from behind.

“Home,” I answered honestly, not moving my gaze.

He leaned against the castle wall next to me.  “You speak little of your world.  Tell me of it.”

“It’s different than Narnia,” I started.

“You mean because the only creatures are humans and dumb animals.”

I smiled slightly.  It always amused me how shocking Narnians found this.  “More than that.  It’s an old world, much older than yours.  The humans have built more and changed the land.  But that’s not all.  There’s something about Narnia… maybe it’s the magic or different air, but it just feels different.”

We fall into silence.  I’m not sure what else to say.  Only a person who had been to both worlds could really understand.

“Interesting,” he mused.  “I think I shall like to see it someday.”

“What did you come to tell me?” I asked, changing the subject.  “You sought me out for a reason.”

Gale’s bright green eyes lit up.  “I think tomorrow we should hunt for the white stag.”

I laughed.  “We’ve returned to Cair Paravel but a week ago and you already have an adventure planned?  I thought surely slaying a dragon would do you in for a few months.”

“Ah, you should have assumed no such thing.  Dawn would likely be the best time to leave.  We could then make our way to the woods near the lamppost… although I will insist you always stay near the hunting party.  We both know you too easily get lost.”

We laughed a little, but there is slight tension in the air.  My first trip to Narnia was when Gale and I were both children.  Together with Everlast the unicorn and Robin the talking horse, we learned everything there was to know about surviving a battle and fought to dispatch a band of Boggles.  Though shortly after that, I disappeared back into my own world.

Gale was never sure what became of me until the dragon invaded the lone islands and he used a magical horn to call for help, causing me to inexplicably reappear in Narnia.  It was a strange reunion, as Gale had aged several more years than I.  In the time that passed, he had been crowned king and married Princess Aelizia of Archenland.

Suddenly, Aelizia burst through the door, her dark curls askew from running.  Gale reached for his sword.  “What’s happened?”

Her eyes were wide with excitement and disbelief.  “The great lion Aslan has come!  From the window in my bedchamber I could see him walking along the beach.”

Without another word of discussion, the three of us rushed to the scene.  An unnamable feeling tingled inside of me.  I had heard countless legends of the Lion, yet never seen him face to face.  What would it be like to stand before one so great?  When Aslan did come into view, I was left speechless.

He wasn’t the largest lion I had ever seen—I suppose he can appear as he chooses—yet he was by far the most majestic animal I had ever come across, and I have never seen the likes of him since.  After a moment of awe, Aelizia turned to me.  “I think… I feel he wants to speak with you.”

I nodded slowly.  I didn’t know how, but I certainly felt Aslan was waiting for me.

“What holds you?  Go!” Gale insisted, pushing me forward.  Slightly dazed, I silently made my way to the great lion, bowing when I had reached him.

“Rise, daughter of Eve,” he commanded.

I slowly drew myself to my feet, brushing off my dress.  I could sense Aslan was powerful, easily powerful enough to destroy me, yet he didn’t.  Perhaps this was what gave me the courage to look him in the eye.  Once I did so, I immediately felt more at ease.  There was such great care in his eyes I knew I could trust him.

“Did you wish to speak with me?” I finally asked.

“I come to give you a choice,” he answered gravely.

Although there was no chill in the air, I felt a slight shiver.  “A choice?”

“It is time, daughter of Eve, for you to return to your world.”

“Oh.”  My heart sank deep into the sand.  I stared out at the sea, ignoring the mermaids at play.  Perhaps there were some things I missed about home, yet… Narnia was home, too.  If I left, it would go on and change without me just as it had the last time, while my world would stay exactly the same until I was ready to return.  “When will I come back?”

Aslan’s deep brown eyes returned my pleading expression with one of melancholy calm.  “There will be no return this time, daughter of Eve.”

I wanted to scream, to cry, to shoot something.  But I just stood.  “Why?” I choked.

“You have surpassed the age which I allow to cross between worlds.  It is time for you to choose between them.”

I turned away from him, looking out at Narnia’s beautiful landscape.  “And what happens if I choose here?”

“Time in your world will go on without you and those who you’ve left behind will not know what became of you.”

I buried my face in my hands.  I couldn’t bear to leave Narnia.  I felt like I belonged there more than anywhere else, and there were so many I cared about, yet… I couldn’t leave the people in my world, no matter how much I wanted to stay here.  It wouldn’t be right.  “You think I should go, don’t you?”

Aslan lay a heavy paw on my shoulder.  “I do believe it is the right choice, although I will allow you to choose it for yourself.”

I started furiously pacing, torn by the situation and resentful of Aslan for putting me in it. “Why?  Why must I go now?  Can I not stay longer?”

“Such things are not in your control, daughter of Eve.  This is the time I’ve chosen for you, and you must trust it.”

“Why do I have to return?  Why now?”

“Your battle here is over, now you have a new one to face.”

Finally I sank down at Aslan’s side.  I knew he was right.  This was a battle I had to face; I couldn’t run away from it.  “What ails you, daughter of Eve?” he asked gently.

“I just… I just wish I could put everyone I care about from both worlds in one place.  I’m tired of always missing someone.  I don’t want to say another goodbye.”

“There is a world like the one you envision, although it is not your time to journey there yet.”

I slowly stood up.  “In your kingdom?”

“Yes.”

Despite my sorrow, a small smile played on my lips.  I would see my friends again, albeit in another world.  I closed my eyes and took in a deep breath of Narnian air.  “I’m ready.”

My eyes flew open.  I was back.  I was back in the world of school and skyscrapers, where the stars formed completely different constellations.  I looked around my room that felt less like home and brushed off the worn pair of jeans that had replaced my Narnian raiment.  No, there were no dragons here to slay, but Aslan was right; there were still battles ahead.

5 thoughts on “CW 10: Another World

  1. Why would you want to hide this in the closet? It’s beautiful! Original plot, creative characters, excellent word choices — and its set in Narnia! I like it so much better than mine. And the picture is so perfect! Where did you find it?
    2 very small suggestions: there was one part you didn’t capitalize Lone Islands (“until the dragon invaded the…”) , and in your (perfect!) line “Your battle here is over, now you have a new one to face”, I think you need a semicolon instead of a comma.
    I really wish I could double or triple like this. It is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I was just thinking I should have password protected this… I’m not sure why I didn’t like it, but I’m glad you did. 🙂 The picture was on Google Images. I’m not sure where it’s from.
      Anyway, thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and suggestions. I really appreciate it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

