J12: Being a Flower Girl, Romanian Weddings, and Other Wedding Related-Thoughts


This week’s journal topics was weddings.  Turns out I have more to say on the subject than I expected!

Random fact about me: I have never attended an American wedding, unless if movies count.  However, I have attended several Romanian weddings, the exact number of which I cannot remember.  And no, my mom didn’t remember either.  I asked.

My first several weddings I attended as a flower girl.  It just so happened that while I was around flower girl age, many people who work with my parents were getting married, so I was a very popular choice.  I also got to be a ring bearer once.  There is very little that I remember about these weddings, but I do know that since they were hosted by evangelical Christians, they were rather different than traditional Romanian weddings.

This summer I got the opportunity to attend my cousin’s wedding, which, unlike the weddings of my parents’ colleagues, was a traditional Romanian Orthodox wedding.  Honestly, I wasn’t terribly excited when I first heard about this plan.  Although there is a legal and religious ceremony during the day, the most important part of Romanian weddings is the all-nighter party that takes place afterwards.  This is always accompanied by food, dancing, and of course a live band.

As it is, I find it difficult to be social for a whole hour, let alone a whole night, I have two left feet, and I (no offense) get very tired of the bands.  However the wedding actually turned out to be a pleasant experience.  There was an enjoyable atmosphere and I enjoyed experiencing this part of Romanian culture.  I even ended up liking the dances, although I’m sure I stepped on a few toes.  And I wasn’t at all disappointed that a DJ replaced the regular band.  By the time I left, I had developed a greater appreciation of weddings, especially of Romanian weddings.

Not from the wedding I went to, but this is what a Romanian wedding dance looks like.

One Romanian wedding tradition I really like is called the stealing of the bride.  At some point during the party, the bride is “stolen” by the groomsmen, who will hide her somewhere.  When the groom realizes the bride is gone, he will work out a “price” with the groomsmen to buy her back—usually some form of alcohol and a declaration of love.

As for my own wedding, I have no idea what will happen, but I hope to include elements from both American and Romanian traditions.  And perhaps traditions of other cultures that will influence me.  We’ll see.

4 thoughts on “J12: Being a Flower Girl, Romanian Weddings, and Other Wedding Related-Thoughts

Leave a Reply

