J14: A Journal About Journaling


My first post of the year!  Yipeee!  And the topic is… you guessed it, journaling.

For someone who enjoys writing as much as I do and keeps as many notebooks as I do, I really don’t journal that much.  Actually, I don’t really journal at all.  Almost everyone I know has tried journaling at some point and given it up.  I’m no different.

My notebook situation

Several times I tried to journal, and I inevitably gave up every time.  Then, a few months later, I would pick up my old journal, read through it, roll my eyes at my old writing, and try again.  And fail again.  Eventually I decided it was no use.  Even without journals, I remember most things.  Besides, I could never keep up with one.

But my perspective on journaling has changed a little.  I’ve seen that it really can help me work through my thoughts.  After all, I’m much better at writing than I am at talking.  And I believe journaling can help someone develop both as a writer and a person.  Yet, I still don’t see myself keeping a journal.

Why?  Well first of all, I just don’t feel like I have the time.  With all of the hecticness (this is not a word but I think it needs to be one) of life, I know my journal would be placed as a very low priority and I would probably only write in it once a month.  I also don’t really like writing by hand.  My brain thinks of ideas about ten times faster than I can write, and by the time I write everything out I forget what I was going to say.  Because of this, I much prefer typing.

Maybe one day I’ll start an electronic journal, or even chip away at my impressive notebook pile, but for now I’ll stick to only jotting down ideas every now and then.  And of course blogging.  So far, I have really loved this blog and am planning to keep it next year.  I don’t know how frequently I’ll be able to post, but I would really hate to give it up.  I hope all my classmates will also continue blogging so I can see where their writing takes them.

aaaaand another photo.
One thought on “J14: A Journal About Journaling

Leave a Reply

