CW 14: Memoir in Letters and Notes


For this week’s assignment, we were to create an autobiography by choosing ten books or songs that described us or our lives.  I chose five books and five songs and ordered them chronologically.  If you want to learn too much about me, proceed reading.

Beatrix Potter: The Complete Tales

Believe it or not, this book represents the evil side of me.  Although I loved all these stories as a child, my favorites were about the naughty animals.  Tom Kitten became my role model and I pretended to be him almost as much as I pretended to be Peter Pan.  It never occurred to me that it would be strange to pretend to be a boy; if it was only the boy characters that were naughty and went on adventures, then by golly I would pretend to be one of them.

But don’t get too worried; there is an innocent reason this book makes this list.  It is one of the first books I can remember reading, marking the beginning of my life-long love affair with books.

Third Culture Kids: Growing Up Among Worlds

Although I have not actually read this book, I still feel like it represents an important part of my life.  I am a third culture kid (TCK), which in short means that I belong in multiple cultures without belonging in any culture at all.  I’ve grown up with an American mother and a Romanian father, living in Romania while going to American schools, having dual citizenships, and hearing two languages in the home.  Needless to say, my life is a sufficient mix of both Romanian and American.  This sometimes causes difficulty and makes it hard to identify myself.  (Where am I from?)  Although it also comes with great advantages, such as experiencing other cultures in a way most people never do.

The Call

Another downside of the TCK life: people are always moving.  Just about every year since kindergarten, I’ve had to say goodbye to close friends.  I’m not a very emotional person, but this song makes me feel so bittersweet.  It so perfectly describes the sad and hopeful feelings of goodbyes.  I also love it for being on the Narnia soundtrack, as Narnia was such an important part of my childhood.

The Travel Book

One of my favorite parts of living in Europe is the ability to travel.  Since Europe is a condensed continent with rich history, hundreds of world famous tourist sights are only a road trip or a short flight away.  Some of my favorite places I’ve visited are England, Italy, and Austria.  In the future I really hope to see Norway, Ireland, and to explore the other continents.  Experiencing other cultures and places has greatly influenced me, and I plan on living in several different countries in the future.

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

This is possibly my favorite hymn.  I really feel like it describes my spiritual life.  Some of my favorite lyrics are:

 Prone to wander Lord I feel it, prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it, seal it for thy courts above

During worship times, I’ll admit my mind is very prone to wander.  When I hear this part of the song, it always feels like a call to focus my attention where it needs to be.

Fireflies

This was one of my favorite songs in middle school.  Although I don’t listen to it too much anymore, (there are only so many times you can listen to a song before getting tired of it, and I listened to this one literally hundreds of times) I still like its fun, bubbly sound and nonsensical lyrics.  It seems to describe how I feel when I’m in a happy or excited mood.

The Writer’s Handbook

I have never read this book either.  The reason I chose it is simple: I enjoy writing.  I’ve been thinking of ideas for stories for about as long as I can remember.  In fact, it’s a miracle I’ve passed all my classes with the amount of story planning I did in the classroom.  Throughout the years, I would go through spurts of writing.  I would think of an idea and work hard on it for a while, then move on.  About a year and a half ago, I starting taking writing much more seriously.  I was sitting on the couch thinking when a book idea suddenly came to me.  So I started writing it, and I haven’t stopped writing since.

For the First Time in Forever

Yes, I’m actually putting a Frozen song on this list.  The first time I watched the movie, I was amazed at how well Ana’s and Elsa’s emotions in this song describe my split personality.  Part of me, like Ana, hates isolation and wants to be the first person to sign up for every social event and to meet new people at every chance.  Yet another part of me, like Elsa, cringes at the thought of social interaction and wants to hide in my icy tower all day.

The Last Sunday

This is possibly the most autobiographical work I’ve written.  The characters’ relationships are almost exactly like my relationships with my friends, meaning yes, we are as mean to each other as Nadia and Aidan are.  Although that isn’t the only reason this work reflects my life.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had to deal with friends moving away many times before.  And soon (although not as soon as Nadia) I will be leaving for college.  I feel like I could have had almost this exact conversation with my friends before.

Face Up

Lights has so many relatable songs it was really hard to choose the right one.  I eventually decided on “Face Up” because it conveys so many emotions: exhaustion, stress, despair, determination, and hope.  I play this song when I feel any one of these things, or when I’m just tired and don’t feel like waking up.  As the song reminds me, I try to keep my face up, keep fighting, no matter what the situation.

4 thoughts on “CW 14: Memoir in Letters and Notes

Leave a Reply

