S8: Questions that are Harder to Answer than They Should be


For this week, we answered a short questionnaire about our novellas then did a celebrity casting if we chose to do so.  I wasn’t originally planning on doing the casting but, well… I just had to.  I’ve done more celebrity researching in the last day than I have ever in my entire life. 🙂  

Question 1: What song would be the film score for your story?

I would say “White Teeth Teens” by Lorde.  This song can be interpreted in different ways—and I think it’s meant to be that way—but I feel like the theme of it fits my novel well.

Question 2: What book would be your main character’s favorite?

There’s no book that really jumps out as the answer.  I think she would like to read thought provoking books with themes of survival and self-realization, in which case she would probably like The Hunger Games.  Divergent might also appeal to her because it deals with the idea of categorizing people, although it’s strange to think of her reading dystopian books when she lives in a dystopian world.  Because of her experiences, she would be drawn to books that discuss memory loss, such as The Lost Hero, The Maze Runner, and We Were Liars.

Question 3: What TV shows would they watch?

This is honestly hard for me to answer because I don’t watch a lot of TV.  (I watch exactly one TV show).  Depending on her mood, my main character would either watch all of the popular shows to know what people are talking about, or rebel against all TV.  No, there would be no in between.  Ella would for sure like documentaries.

Celebrity Casting:

Well, here’s something I’m really bad at, since I kind of take pride in not knowing anything about celebrities.  I know next to nothing about these people and chose most of them for the way they look.  As a bonus, I chose a theme song for each character, since I usually think of those anyway.

Willow Shields as Rowan/Lacey:

Unlike most of the others, I’ve actually seen Willow act before and think she could do a good job. She plays Primrose Everdeen in “The Hunger Games.”

Song: “Who You Are” by Jessie J (though I prefer Ed Sheeran’s cover so that’s the one you get.)

Elizabeth Gilles as Rowena:

Yeah, I have pretty much no idea who she is. But the more I look at her, the more she looks the part.

Song: “No Angle” by Birdy (I know it makes NO SENSE now, but trust me, it will.)

Dylan O’Brian as Chase:

He was the first person that came to mind. At first I wasn’t sure, but now I can really see him in the role.

Song: “Monster” by Imagine Dragons

Haley Tju as Ella:

My options were pretty limited on this one. There aren’t a lot of Asian actresses out there! Or at least ones young enough for the role.

Song: “Am I Wrong” by Nico Vinz

Halston Sage as Bonny:

Her eye color isn’t the same as the book, but besides that she looks a lot like how I pictured her.

Song: “Popular” from Wicked (I’m not sure if this is the best song, but I couldn’t think of something better.)

David Huttlestone as Caleb/Leo:

And here is one of my favorite actors ever! I’ve been picturing him in the role for a while. (Even if his eyes aren’t green.)

Song: “Misguided Ghosts” by Paramore

8 thoughts on “S8: Questions that are Harder to Answer than They Should be

  1. Well, there’s no lack of Asian actresses from Asian movies. But then again, I imagine those would be difficult to find. XP The song by Lorde is interesting. I like your analysis on what books Lacey/Rowan would read, and like you, I don’t watch much TV or know anything about celebrities. Cool! 🙂

    ~Michael Hollingworth
    Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

