In Which My Jet Lagged Self Obsesses Over Harry Potter


Random life update: For those of you who don’t know, I spent all day yesterday– literally all  24 hours– traveling to America.  (And I am very proud to say I spent my time on the airplane watching documentaries and cat videos.  Like cool people do.)  This has left me jet lagged and in the mood to do random things to entertain myself.  So although this doesn’t fit into my blogging schedule, I decided to do a Harry Potter survey I found on Kayla’s blog.  Hope you’re amused (or at least don’t find me too weird).

1. IF YOU WENT TO HOGWARTS, WHICH HOUSE WOULD YOU BE SORTED INTO?

*using my best Sorting Hat voice* GRYFFINDOR!  Or so Pottermore says.

2. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN TO A HP MIDNIGHT RELEASE?

No.  *sighs*  I didn’t start reading the books until after all the movies came out…

3. WHAT DID YOU THINK OF THE DEATHLY HALLOWS?

’tis beautiful and amazing and brought me near to tears (and trust me, precious few books have done that)

4. HOW MANY TIMES HAVE YOU RE-READ THE BOOKS?

ummm…. I ummm…. haven’t reread any of them from cover to cover.  *hides face as all of the long-time Harry Potter fans leave in disgust.*

But I have reread parts I like.

5. WHOSE DEATH WAS THE SADDEST? *SPOILERS*

No one died.  I refuse to believe so.

But if you must know, Fred’s death was rather brutal.  And Sirius’s.

6. IF YOU WENT TO HOGWARTS, WOULD YOU RATHER HAVE A CAT, AN OWL, OR A RAT?

It’s a hard choice between owls and cats.  I might choose an owl because it’s more unusual.

7. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THE MOVIE THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE?

I really liked the movie!  It stuck to the book fairly well, I think.

Fun fact: I actually saw this movie before watching any of the other movies or reading any of the books.  Please forgive me.  I was on a ten hour flight.

8. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THE DEATHLY HALLOWS BEING SPLIT IN TWO?

I actually haven’t seen the Deathly Hallows yet.  If I do, then the whole thing would be over, and that is just too sad to think about.  😦  But I like the idea of it.  There’s just WAY too much in Deathly Hallows for one movie.

9. HAVE YOU READ THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD?

Yes yes!!!  Much better than the fairy tales you silly muggles read. 😛

10. WHEN DID YOU FIRST BECOME A POTTER FAN?

Ninth grade.  I was fourteen.  Which was three years ago.

I just realized I’ve been a Potter fan for longer than I thought….

11. FAVORITE FEMALE CHARACTER?

Oh so many good ones!!!!!!!

But I have to say Hermione.  Why?  Because I just relate to her so much.  I am Hermione.  I even have her hair.  (from the first movie, not any of the later ones)

12. FAVORITE MALE CHARACTER?

Fred/George!  Those are technically two, but they’re basically one.  *glares at J.K. Rowling, who apparently forgot this while writing Deathly Hallows*

13. FAVORITE PROFESSOR?

Professor McGonagall. Because of this:

“Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?”
“Yes.”
“You called her a liar?”
“Yes.”
“You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?”
“Yes.”
“Have a biscuit, Potter.”

14. FAVORITE DEATH EATER?

Bellatrix Lestrange.  Because in a weird way, she’s pretty awesome.  And because of Helena Bonham Carter.

15. FAVORITE MAGICAL CREATURE?

Blasted ended skrewts.  Just kidding. 😛  Probably dragons.

16. FAVORITE SPELL?

Avada kedavra, obviously.  I like to yell it at non Harry Potter fans and confuse them.

Okay, so I don’t actually do that.  Not usually anyway.

17. FAVORITE QUOTE?

Sooo many.  But my all time favorite is:

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”

As well as:

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

and

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

and

“Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.”

18. FAVORITE MOVIE?

Hmmm… well, as I’ve mentioned, I haven’t seen either Deathly Hallows, and those would probably be my favorites.  I also haven’t seen the fourth one, because everyone told me it was bad.  My favorite was probably the fifth or the sixth one… not sure which.

19. FAVORITE HOGWARTS HOUSE?

Gryffindor!! The place where I belong. 

20. FAVORITE PLACE?

Hogwarts, of course.  As well as Fred and George’s joke shop.

21. FAVORITE WEASLEY?

ooooh hard one… Fred and George.  Because they’re hilarious.  And again I nominate them together because they’re supposed to be together. *second glare at J.K.*

22. FAVORITE COUPLE?

Ron and Hermione.  They’re perfect, and much better together than Harry and Hermione.  And also James and Lily.  I’m not sure why, but I really love them.

23. GRYFFINDOR OR SLYTHERIN?

I believe I’ve covered this already.

24. RAVENCLAW OR HUFFLEPUFF?

Ravenclaw!  Because they’re smart.  And because of the lovely Luna Lovegood.

25. FRED OR GEORGE?

I do not like this question.  It separates Fred and George, and you know how I feel about that.

26. GINNY OR LUNA?

I love them both, but Luna.  I just love her quirky personality.  And she’s much better in the movies than Ginny is.  Seriously some one needs to remind the script writers that Ginny actually has a personality, and an endearing one at that.

27. BUTTERBEER OF FIREWHISKEY?

Butterbeer.  I have an obsession with warm drinks and have always wanted to try it.

28. DIAGON ALLEY OR HOGSMEADE?

Hogsmeade.  So I can try Butterbeer.  And because it looks amazing.

29. BOOKS OR MOVIES?

Hmm… let me think…. (does this question even have to be asked?)

30. PHILOSOPHER’S STONE OR CHAMBER OF SECRETS?

Chamber of Secrets.  Mostly because of Gilderoy Lockhart.  I know he’s awful, but he was HILARIOUS.

31. SNAPE OR SLUGHORN?

SNAPE.  always ❤

32. LUPIN OR SIRIUS?

LUPIN.  I’ve always loved him.  *sobs and glares at J.K. Rowling once again*

(I sure do seem to glare at my favorite authors a lot)

33. HARRY/GINNY OR HARRY/HERMIONE?

Harry/Ginny forever.  I love it that Harry and Hermione are able to have a meaningful friendship without romance.  (Yes, it can happen)  And Harry and Ginny are kind of cute.

34. LAVENDER BROWN OR PARVATI PATIL?

I don’t have much of an opinion on the subject.  Maybe Lavender, because in book six she was so ridiculous that it was funny.

35. SEAMUS FINNIGAN OR DEAN THOMAS?

hmm… I really don’t have a preference.

36. KREACHER OR DOBBY?

I know Kreacher was misunderstood, but still he’s not my favorite.  Dobby on the other hand, is one of the most hilarious, cute, loveable, and hugable characters to exist.  *sighs*  So of course the lovely J.K. Rowling had to slaughter him.

(Guys, don’t get me wrong.  I actually love her.  But I might hate her a little sometimes.)

37. MUGGLEBORN OR PUREBLOOD?

I am muggleborn myself, so I may be slightly partial to them. 🙂

38. DAN OR RUPERT?

Emma.

39. BELLATRIX OR NARCISSA?

BELLATRIX.  Okay, my admiration for her is a little unhealthy.  Is unhealthy.

40. VOLDEMORT OR TOM RIDDLE?

The noseless bald villain who feasts on unicorns.  That’s not a very catchy name, but whatever.

One of my lifelong goals is to meet some one named Tom Riddle.  Ideally, he would have no idea he shared a name with the Dark Lord and wouldn’t understand why I referred to him as such.  This is an unrealistic dream, but I will keep hoping.

This will never not be funny

41. HEDWIG OR CROOKSHANKS?

Hedwig.  You get to know her a lot better.  Pity that she died in J.K. Rowling’s killing spree, otherwise known as The Deathly Hallows.  (and I think that was the first time I bothered to italicize that title)

So yeah, you can unfollow me if you’re freaked out by my nerdiness.  😛  And one last pic:

2 thoughts on “In Which My Jet Lagged Self Obsesses Over Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

