Recent Readings


Greetings followers!  For whatever reason, I am in the mood to rant about unoriginal books.  Perhaps this has something to do with the dissatisfaction I’ve found with the books I’ve read lately.  But don’t worry, I’m throwing a good book in the mix, too.  In any event, enjoy! (pics from Google images)

  1. The Beginning of Everything

13522285

Summary: Ezra Faulkner starts his senior year as a tragedy.  He lost his status as star tennis player and popular jock in a car accident that injured his leg.  Then he meets Cassidy Thorpe, an enigmatic girl who introduces him to a world with more exitement and heartbreak than he could imagine.

Review: Having just finished this book, I can’t quite place my finger on what about it makes me feel dissatisfied.  I mean, Schneider does make some meaningful points.  Good points.  And overall, it’s a fairly readable book.  But it’s like she tries so hard to write a deep, thought-provoking book that it just falls flat.  She’s trying to be John Green, which is kind of lame because John Green already exists.  (Brilliant point, I know.)  If you like this book, I certainly don’t hold it against you.  Maybe the style just isn’t for me.  But if I could describe it in a word, it’d be “forced”.

2. Independent Study

61rffz39ijl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Summary: This is book two in the Hunger Games– erm no Divergent…. actually, The Testing Trilogy.  Basically, it’s a dystopian world in which you have to win the Hunger Games instead of getting a good SAT score to get into college.  (Which may not be such a big difference.)  While in college, the world starts to look like you’re being sorted into your faction and learning how to live there.

Review: Okay, my summary was much meaner than it needed to be.  Especially considering that it’s a fairly good series.  The characters are well developed and the plot kept me intersted.  Or at least in the first one.  By book two, either I got sick of the unoriginality or the writing got much worse.  The truth is, The Hunger Games has already been written, and it doesn’t need to be written again.

3. All Our Yesterdays

 

 

Summary: Em’s world is a disaster.  She’s time-traveled countless times, trying to stop a horrendous and seemingly unstoppable chain of events from occuring.  In a different time, Marina, a naieve high schooler, strives to win the affections of James, her childhood best friend and renowned prodigy.  Then, in one disasterous night, everything in her world starts to crumble.

Review: I promised to mention an original book, and this is it.  In fact, I’d venture to say this is one of the most orignal books I’ve read in the last year.  Action-packed, mind-boggling, and heartwrenching, All Our Yesterdays is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat from the opening sentence to the final page.  Not only does it have a fascinating plot, but the characters are endearing and memorable.

So what’s the moral?  Well, if you’re a writer out there, don’t try to immitate someone’s style or story.  Shakespeare has already existed.  Hemmingway has already existed.  Jane Austin has already existed.  The only thing you have to offer that isn’t already out there is your ideas.  Not that you shouldn’t be inspired by other writers, but… be yourself.

2 thoughts on “Recent Readings

  1. Phew, for a minute I thought you were going to say you didn’t like All Our Yesterdays! Hehe, I looooved that book.

    And I know what you mean, I’ve read a lot of books that just aren’t really that great style-wise…kinda frustrating -.-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

