Answers to All of the Questions People Ask me About College


Do you ever feel like people are asking you the same questions over and over?  I think every college-bound student has been asked most of these questions, or some form of them, at least 452 times this summer.  Thus, I have graciously provided my answers to all of them, so I can direct people to this page and avoid small talk. 🙂  Warning: Sarcasm ahead.

Photo cred: Zazzle.com.  Yes, you can actually buy this shirt there.

 

 

Q: Sooo, where are you going to school?

A: Boston.  Boston University.

Q: Congratulations!  Why did you choose to go there?

A: Umm… money.  They gave me a scholarship.

Q: Oh, that’s great.  Then how did you choose to apply in the first place?

A: Goodness gracious, I don’t know!  I was such a confused child when applying to colleges that I didn’t know how or why I was applying anywhere.  But if you want to know how I found the school, umm… College Board told me it would be a good fit.  Is that a good answer?

Q: Okay.  Well you better be careful up in Boston.  Do you know how liberal they are up there?

A: Liberal?  Well, gosh diddly darn!  I never would have guessed Boston was liberal.  And it’s not as if I would like to meet anyone with different political beliefs than the ones I’m used to.  Because I am every bit as conservative as you assume I am, and because I have no brain, I’m naturally concerned I will absorb all liberal ideas I come into contact with.  If Boston is liberal, I’m just going to have to renounce my scholarship, aren’t I?

Q: What are you majoring in?

A: Well, at first I was thinking English or Creative Writing or something, but then I realized most of the jobs available to me would be teaching jobs, and I do not have the patience to deal with one of those.  So then I decided on the most PRACTICAL, money-making major ever: sociology.

Q: Why did you choose that major?

A: Like I said, it’s the ultimate millionaire’s major!  NO, because I’m passionate about it.  But I also happen to be passionate about being able to eat so I’m thinking about that career factor…

Q: Do you know what job you’re going to get?

A: *Facepalm*  All these questions make me feel like I don’t think things through well.

Q: Are you planning on finding a husband in college?

A: Oh yes.  That’s my one and only goal.  Why else would I have spent so much time studying for the SAT, move to another continent, and work to pay for college?  It wouldn’t be to get a good education.  What a preposterous idea.  I mean, a woman trying to get an education in order to get a job outside the home?  In the twenty first century?  Laughable.  And it’s not like there are perfectly free dating sites I could use to find a date if that was my goal in life.

Q: Are you excited?

A: YES.  But also nervous and terrified.  Because I’m an introvert and shy and moving to a whole new culture with tons and tons of people and I’m an obsessive freak about my grades and want to do really well and… did I mention I’m a tad nervous?  But, yes.  I’m excited.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Answers to All of the Questions People Ask me About College

  1. Awesome idea! Now wherever someone asks you one of these, you can just point then to your blog post. XP

    But honestly, these are the questions everyone (and I’m sure their dogs, too, if dogs could talk) asks seniors/college bound people. *nods and vigorously* And after taking a gap year (guess how many questions you get then!), I’ve realized that the truth is…. That no one at the age of 18 really has their life planned out. And frankly, I don’t think anyone really expects then to, seeing as they just finally got old enough to really look at the world around them in that sense. — you know what I mean, right? Unfortunately, small talk can murder large ideas.

    But take the frustration and problems and all to God, no matter what you can or can’t make of them. He does not ask silly questions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

