The Bench (A Short Play)


Well.  This is supposed to be a creative writing blog and I haven’t posted any creative writing for some time, so I decided to post a play scene which I wrote for a class.  And of course, being me, I had to make it… well, you’ll see :).

Image result for park bench

ALLISON:

(Jogging through park)  Okay.  I’m okay.  I can do this.  It’s been six months, and it’s not like I can avoid riding by this spot forever.  Besides, just because he’s usually on his bench at this time of day doesn’t mean he’ll be there now.  But even if he is there, probably nothing will happen.  He’ll just ignore me.  Or maybe he won’t see me.  It’ll be fine… it’ll be fine… And oh gosh there he is.  So much for him not being here.  Aaaand he sees me.  Crap.  Crap.  Crap.

CHAD:

(Face breaking into grin and standing) Allison!  Is that you?  It’s been forever!  I can’t believe you’re here.

ALLISON:

(Continues on her way, muttering) Just ignore him, ignore him…

CHAD:

(Runs to Allison and throws arms around her.) Hey!  I missed you!

ALLISON:

(Wrenches herself away and shudders.)  Don’t touch me.  I don’t like hugs, remember?

CHAD:

But… I thought… I thought…

ALLISON:

Yes.  You were an exception.  Once.  But not anymore.

CHAD:

Umm… okay.

ALLISON:

Now let me make myself clear.  I did not run by here because I want to visit.  I ran by because this is public property and I have the right to it just like anyone else.  And because I was sick of the route I designed to ensure I would never run into you ever.

CHAD:

Oh.  I guess I was just hoping you coming by meant you were ready to be friends.

ALLISON:

How could we ever be friends?

CHAD:

Look.  I do care for you.  Deep down inside you have to care for me.  Isn’t that enough to be friends?

ALLISON:

No, quite frankly it isn’t.  No matter what, I can’t be friends with the man who abused me.

CHAD:

Allison, I never…  I’ve done a lot of things wrong in my life but I’d never abuse a woman, much less you!

ALLISON:

See!  That’s just the problem.  You refuse to admit to what you did and you expect me to just get over it and have us be best friends?  I don’t think so.

CHAD:

I never hit you.  Hell, I never even yelled.

ALLISON:

You didn’t have to.  Abuse is never about what you don’t do.

CHAD:

I just don’t see what you think I did.  No physical or emotional abuse…

ALLISON

(Smirking) Did you forget the sexual abuse?

CHAD:

(Throws hands in the air) Everything we did was consensual!  I don’t know what you’re talking about!

ALLISON:

Was it, Chad?  Was it?  Because you pushed.  And I gave in because you promised you loved me.  That we’d be together forever.  Then you turned your back on all of that.

CHAD:

Look, Al.  I’m sorry things ended the way you did.  But none of what you described was actually rape.

ALLISON:

Then what was it, Chad?  Chronic lying?  Manipulation?  Using me for sex?  Because those things seem pretty abusive to me.

CHAD:

(At a loss) But… but… I’d be there for you for anything.  Promise.

ALLISON:

Then where were you when I was trying to get over this?  Where were you the nights when I stayed up at three am crying because I missed the man I thought you were?

CHAD:

I couldn’t be there.  Not when I caused the problem.

ALLISON:

And see.  That’s why we can’t be friends.  None of your promises are ever true.  I don’t need that in my life.

CHAD:

Allison, please!  Stay!

ALLISON:

(Starts jogging again).  Good bye, Chad.  I won’t be coming by here anymore.

2 thoughts on “The Bench (A Short Play)

  1. I like Allison, a smart and insightful woman . Three cheers to a character who chooses to use the pain, learn from it and make better choices for herself. She said no, I want and deserve better.

    Thank you for writing about real life, the power of choice and the freedom that comes from learning from mistakes. Joy comes in the journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

